Rick Boyles Wins PCMGA Club Championship

Howie Tiger

The PebbleCreek Men’s Golf Association (PCMGA) Club Championship was won by Rick Boyles. He shot a gross score of 221 in this three-day event. This PCMGA major tournament was held on Feb. 1, 3, and 8.

In the first round at Eagles Nest, Rick shot 1-under par 71 and held a 1-shot lead over defending champion Wade Biddix. In the second round on the East course, Rick shot another 71, but Wade shot 70 to tie Rick going into the final round. They held a 5-shot lead over Ron Ramsbacher and a 6-shot lead over Randy Lundquist and Paul Vogt.

The weather was miserable on the final day on the West course with cold temps and gusty winds. It got even worse when sideways rain started mid-round. After three holes Rick took a 2-shot lead over Wade. At the turn, he made it a 3-shot lead. He extended his lead to 5 shots through 16 holes and held on to finish 4 shots ahead of both Wade and Ron.

The key to Rick’s win was his experience playing in brutal conditions in Alaska. He recently won the Anchorage Open where 45 mph winds and heavy rains toppled over 20 trees!

Congratulations, Rick!

A total of 155 players competed in 14 separate flights. The Championship Flight played from the Black/Blue combo tees and played all three courses. All other flights played Eagles Nest and Tuscany Falls East.


Championship Flight: Low Gross: Rick Boyles, 2nd Low Gross: Ron Ramsbacher. Low Net: 1stPaul Vogt, 2ndJeff Dines, 3rdBill Volm.

Blue Flight 1: Low Gross: Mike Behrendt. Low Net: 1stJulius Aquino, 2ndBrent Dorman, 3rdKeith Clinton.

Blue Flight 2: Low Gross: Peter Estelle. Low Net: 1stDale McGrath, 2ndEd Boehm, 3rdAndy Banister.

Blue/White Flight 1: Low Gross: Rick Kesig. Low Net: 1stRon Sturza, 2ndWayne Fleming, 3rdSteve Temple.

Blue/White Flight 2: Low Gross: Marty Johnson. Low Net: 1stGreg Curtis, 2ndRandy Carter, 3rdMike Romano.

Blue/White Flight 3: Low Gross: Patrick Prom. Low Net: 1stWade Petersen, 2ndBruce Nelson, 3rdChuck Veltri.

Blue/White Flight 4: Low Gross: Mike Self. Low Net: 1stSteve Annable, 2ndMike Christensen, 3rdMillard Smith.

Blue/White Flight 5: Low Gross: Mark Handzel. Low Net: 1stHarry Cushing, 2ndJim Churchill, 3rdGregg Clymer.

White Flight 1: Low Gross: Jim Nowak. Low Net: 1stRich Elliott, 2ndJeff Furnia, 3rdMike Bridges.

White Flight 2: Low Gross: Ed Neel. Low Net: 1stBob Curtis, 2ndBrad Wenz, 3rdBob Riemath.

White Flight 3: Low Gross: Greg Strausbaugh. Low Net: 1stRonald Barry, 2ndBim Gupta, 3rdDennis L Johnson.

White Flight 4: Low Gross: Jim Sheard. Low Net: 1stMarion Malnar, 2ndJim Herman, 3rdEd Bobigian.

White/Red Flight 1: Low Gross: Arnie Lawrence. Low Net: 1stKen Ogden, 2ndAlbert Williams, 3rdKeith Granle.

White/Red Flight 2: Low Gross: Allan McCormack. Low Net: 1stBob Wolf, 2ndTom Dingman, 3rdGreg Harris.

Congrats to all the winners!