PCMGA Teams Brave the Elements at Robson Challenge

Robson Challenge team members from PebbleCreek (some members were still practicing at time of photo)

Robson Challenge team members from PebbleCreek (some members were still practicing at time of photo)

Howie Tiger

Twenty-four members of the PebbleCreek Men’s Golf Association (PCMGA) survived the elements at this year’s Robson Challenge. The tournament took place on Nov. 20 at the Quail Creek Country Club, another Robson golf community located in Green Valley, just south of Tucson.

Any one of the five elements might have caused many Arizona golfers to choose not to play: gusty winds, cool temps, wet conditions, intermittent rain, and the ever unpopular “cart path only.” However, the players gutted it out and competed as best they could.

One Quail Creek team took advantage of their home course knowledge and won bragging rights as the 2019 Robson Challenge Champions.

The Robson Challenge is an annual team competition that pits players from several Robson communities against each other in a friendly stroke play tournament. A total of six 12-man teams competed. Two each from PebbleCreek and Quail Creek and one each from Robson Ranch and SaddleBrooke Ranch. The tourney featured a team event where the lowest ten players’ net scores out of the 12 counted. Prizes were also awarded for individual net scores in four flights.

PebbleCreek team members:

John McCahan, our director of golf, represented us as our golf professional.

Team 1: Wayne Fleming, Bob Iverson, Doug Ginter, Brad Johnston, Skip Holmes, Jim Clancy, Greg Mitchell, Roger Uherchik, Chris Aune, Paul Polk, Gary Ebel, and Dennis Thelen.

Team 2: Howie Tiger, Jim Palmer, Art Krudener, Doug McFarland, Peter Jacques, Bob Newell, Monte Page, Ken Schumacher, Joe Chimera, Bill Anderson, Ray Measles, and Don De Coste.

Team results: (total team score in parentheses)

Quail Creek 1 (738); Robson Ranch (744); Quail Creek 2 (747); PebbleCreek 1 (755); SaddleBrooke Ranch (780); and PebbleCreek 2 (766).

Individual winners (PCMGA members):

Flight 1: Wayne Fleming (tied 3rd); Flight 2: Doug Ginter (tied 1st), Doug McFarland (tied 1st) and Skip Holmes (tied 5th); Flight 3: Chris Aune (tied 6th); and Flight 4: Gary Ebel (1st), Don De Coste (tied 2nd), and Dennis Thelen (tied 2nd).

The PCMGA wants to thank all the members who braved the elements and traveled quite a distance to represent PebbleCreek and compete in this event.

Many thanks to Ortho Arizona for providing matching shirts.

Also, thanks to Jim Lynch of Quail Creek who did a great job organizing this event and communicating to all the players.