PCMGA conducts final major tourney of 2017

Howie Tiger

The PebbleCreek Men’s Golf Association conducted its final major tournament for the 2017 season. The format for this three-day event was a four-man scramble where the members chose their own teammates. The tourney was held on December 7, 13 and 14.

The field, which consisted of 58 teams, was separated into six flights. Three flights played from the blue tees and three flights played from the white tees. The course rotation for the Blue Tee Flights was Eagles Nest, then Falls/Palms, then back to Eagles Nest. The rotation for the White Tee Flights was Falls/Palms, then Eagles Nest, then back to Falls/Palms. Strong winds challenged the players on the first day. The 8:30 a.m. shotgun start brought cool temps all three days.

After play on the final day, players gathered in the Tuscany Falls ballroom for lunch, beer and soda. A member meeting was held to vote on proposed bylaw changes. Prizes were awarded in each flight for Low Gross and Low Net (three places).

Low Gross winners

Blue Tees: Flight 1 – Jeff Canfield, John Curtin, Mike Romano and Jim Wolff; Flight 2 – Bill McKinney, Jim Tratz, Roy Bridges and John Abercrombie; Flight 3 – Andy Banister, Dick Helmstetter, Rod Ellison and Roger Krouskup

White Tees: Flight 1 – Joel Walters, Bob Richards, John Low and Dee Cuttell; Flight 2 – Al Carney, Dave Hokaj, Ed Stadjuhar and Marty Schlotthauer; Flight 3 – Joe Chimera, Chris Aune, Tom Colbert and Jerry Laatsch

1st Low Net

Blue Tees: Flight 1 – Howie Tiger, John Krasnan, Butch Schoen and Marc Goldberg; Flight 2 – Tom Klein, Jerry Davis, Bob LeClair and Paul Parker; Flight 3 – Bill Walenda, Gene Bruening, Bud Held and Harvey Winn

White Tees: Flight 1 – Mike Burke, Lou Romano, Ivaldo Lunardi, and Craig Modahl; Flight 2 – Lee McDonell, Steve Thomas, Lloyd Chilton and Terry Johnson; Flight 3 – Dennis Domagala, Keith Constable, Donald De Coste and Steffen Jacobson

2nd Low Net

Blue Tees: Flight 1 – Wayne Gearig, Bruce Carlyle, Brian Maine and Rich Jesko; Flight 2 – Dan Graville, Dave Bleau, Sam Cardinale and Byron Wagner; Flight 3 – Brian Rosenbloom, John McCrickard, David Flynn and Bill Mills

White Tees: Flight 1 – Joe Meckler, Bill Schaffer, Eric Lee and Harry Apodaca; Flight 2 – Alan Peterson, John Lohbauer, Jack Brown and Les Reister; Flight 3 – James Seith, Mark Gonshak, Toru Yogi and Mike Moy.

3rd Low Net

Blue Tees: Flight 1 – Paul Ysteboe, Steve Straley, Scott Giles and Lyman Gallup; Flight 2 – Richard H Johnston, George Clark, Ray Catalano and Ray Lewis; Flight 3 – Randolph Plymell, Dan Anderson, James Corsentino and Peter Carlson

White Tees: Flight 1 – Paul Johnson, Lloyd Garner, Daniel White and Albert Williams; Flight 2 – Jim Bundschuh, John Frangella, Gerald Kurtz and Bill Anderson; Flight 3 – Tom Mackenzie, Rodney Suttles, John Shaw and William Todd

Congratulations to all the winners!

The PCMGA thanks Jason Whitehill, Ronnie Decker and Dave Vader, the food and beverage staff and greens keeping staff for all their hard work and dedication.