PCM9GA annual championship tournament

Bruce Hulbert

On 15 March, on an extremely blustery day, PCM9GA played its final round in their annual Championship Tournament.

106 members competed on the Palms and Lakes Courses on March 8 and 15 with all players playing a total of nine holes on each course.

The player with the lowest gross score was the Club Champion, Fred Schmidt, who, being tied after 18 holes by Steve Rottger, won in a two-hole playoff on a very windy Lakes Course. His 18-hole gross score was 83.

PCM9GA also recognizes a Low Net Champion, who this year was Marion Helton with a net score of 59.

The tournament was conducted in four flights arranged by handicap.

Flight A was won by Steve Rottger with a net score of 67 followed by money winners Al Jerman, Jim Mitchell, Bill Wagner, Jr. and Joe Oliver.

Flight B was won by Larry Gleason with a net 66 followed by Tom Booth, Russ Georgesen, Dick Stampinato, Greg McKenzie and Steve Shaver.

Flight C was won by Tom Poole with a net 63 followed by Bill Gray, Jack Tulaba, Mike Bunn and Don Gillfillan.

Flight D was won by Erv Stein with a net 63 followed by Larry Larson, John Alderink, Rich Schmidt, Nick Isenhart and Bob Spano.

Refreshments were enjoyed through the Championship playoff and trophies were presented to the two club champions.