PCLGA 2018 champions

Bev Clinton

The annual PCLGA Tournament of Champions was a three-day event held on March 20, March 27 and March 28. This year the tournament was chaired by Andrea Dilger and Sheri Sears who received a standing ovation during the tournament dinner for doing such a great job of making this a memorable tournament.

Congratulations to the 2018 Low Gross Champion, Andrea Dilger, and 2018 Low Net Champion, Christine Urbatchka. Great tournament, ladies! Andrea and Christine each received a trophy and some flowers and also will have their name engraved on the crystal trophy that is kept in the glass case outside of the Eagle’s Nest Pro Shop.

A unique aspect of this tournament is that both the first and last day were played using tee times while the middle day was the usual shotgun. To add a little more “tournament feel” to the event, one of our pros was on hand to greet each foursome on both the first and last day as they teed off on their first hole (either on hole 1 or hole 10) and ensured that players went off in the proper sequence.

To sweeten the event, on the final day, Sheri Sears, co-chair, drove her decorated “Candy Cart” around the course after she finished her round and passed out candy. Players enjoyed their candy while gathered on the 18th green to watch leaders finish.

Later that day, the players had a Mexican dinner, along with margaritas, in the Chianti Room. Then, President Marilyn Reynolds conducted the annual meeting. (See separate articles regarding the induction of officers and special awards presented at the annual meeting.)

Pros Jason Whitehill, Ronnie Decker and Dave Vader were on hand to announce the tournament winners following the meeting. Six teams were paid in each of six flights. Congratulations to the following winners:

1st Flight: Gross: 1st Sharon Hadley, 2nd Mary Harris, 3rd Kathy Hubert-Wyss; Net: 1st three-way tie Kittie Day, Liz Mitchell, and Barbara Patrow

2nd Flight: Gross: 1st Kathy Enegren, 2nd tie Ann Page and Barbara Rossi; Net: 1st Cindy Sota, 2nd Teresa Christianson, 3rd Judy Newell

3rd Flight: Gross: 1st Barbara Economou, 2nd Ingried Sigovich, 3rd Lisa Reichert; Net: 1st Nancy Hernandez, 2nd Esther Frehner, 3rd Becky Rio

4th Flight: Gross: 1st Barbara Chilton, 2nd Patricia Sabourin, 3rd Carolyn Suttles; Net: 1st Trish Wagner, 2nd Diana Wolf, 3rd Joanne Metivier

5th Flight: Gross: 1st Jan DeHaven, 2nd Arlene Engelbert, 3rd Mary Coon; Net: 1st Sue White, 2nd Marie Dawson, 3rd tie Connie Steckler and Linda Thompson

6th Flight: Gross: 1st Jane Hee, 2nd Judy Layton, 3rd Susan Franzone; Net: 1st Nancy Dusenbery, 2nd Nancy DerManuel, 3rd Linda Sweet

After these winners were announced, Andrea Dilger, overall Low Gross Winner, and Christine Urbatchka, overall Low Net Winner were recognized with trophies and flowers.

Congratulations to Andrea, Christine and all the other winners of this great event.