PCMGA conducts 2018 Member-Member Tournament

Howie Tiger

The annual PebbleCreek Men’s Golf Association Member-Member tourney was played March 8, 9 and 15, utilizing both Eagle’s Nest and Tuscany Falls courses. Compared to 2017 there were a few repeat winners but mostly different winners. The scores were quite higher especially for the blue flights where the winning scores averaged 10 strokes higher.

A total of 114 two-man teams competed in eight flights with four flights playing from the blue tees and four flights playing from the white tees. Interesting to note that 52 teams played from the blue tees and 62 teams from the white tees. In 2017 those numbers were just the reverse. The Blue Flights played the Eagle’s Nest/Tuscany Falls/Eagle’s Nest rotation and the White Flights played the Tuscany Falls/Eagle’s Nest/Tuscany Falls rotation. A scramble was the format for round one. One best-ball net was the format for round two. Two net-aggregate was the format for the third round.

A delicious lunch was served in the Tuscany Ballroom after play on the final day. The annual PCMGA member meeting was then held to discuss pending issues. Officers for the 2018-2019 season were elected. Congratulations to Ed Stadjuhar (President), John Low (Vice President), Jim Sheard (Secretary) and Mike McMahon (returning as Treasurer). They take office on June 1. Each playing member received a Greg Norman jacket as a tee prize.

We had our second PCMGA hole-in-one during the final round. Keith Tingelhoff aced the fourth hole on the Palms course from the white tees. Congrats to Keith! Regrets to Bill Anderson as he now has to share the annual prize.

Tournament Winners

Blue Flight 1: 1st place, Dave Green and Jack Schafer; 2nd place, Richard Johnston and Stan Smith; 3rd place, Bill McKinney and Jim Tratz

Blue Flight 2: 1st place, Bill Gainer and Chuck Veltri; 2nd place, Jeff Furnia and Ken Ogden; 3rd place, Larry Haiflich and Millard Smith

Blue Flight 3: 1st place, Dave Korba and Ron Rathnow; 2nd place, Richard Elliott and Paul Parker; 3rd place Ed Boehm and Derry Davison

Blue Flight 4: 1st place, Rod Ellison and Roger Krouskup; 2nd place, Wolf Penz and Roger Pierson; 3rd place, Mike Christensen and John McCrickard

White Flight 1: 1st place, Roy Bridges and Dan White; 2nd place, John Birds and Bob Millikan; 3rd place, Bill Walenda and Harvey Winn

White Flight 2: 1st place, Jerry Monk and Marty Schlotthauer; 2nd place, Lloyd Garner and Albert Williams; 3rd place, Bill Anderson and Jim Bundschuh

White Flight 3: 1st place, Shawn Mayer and Tom Reynolds; 2nd place, Chris Aune and Joe Chimera; 3rd place, Dave Cowan and Michael Harrington

White Flight 4: 1st place, James Seith and Toru Yogi; 2nd place, Thomas McCartan and Ted Moeller; 3rd place, Mark Gonshak and Greg Harris

Congrats to all those that cashed. Thanks to the Food & Beverage staff for providing a great meal. Thanks to Jeff Lebo, Joe Miller and their grounds crew. Special thanks to Jason Whitehill, Ronnie Decker and Dave Vader, our golf professional staff.